Use our one-stop services to receive Apostilleand other types of certification on your documents.
AURORA Translation & Legal Services handles the application for, and acquisition of, the Apostille, a kind of certification issued by the Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs. We also prepare the English or Japanese translation of documents which are necessary for such procedure.
In order to receive an Apostille on your documents, you are typically required to visit a notary public, the Legal Affairs Bureau, and then the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. By using our services, you are able to outsource such time-consuming travel, and in addition, the translation of relevant documents is also available from us.
Typical Documents on Which Apostille Is Required
Passport; Certificate of Family Register; Certificate of Residence; Certificate of Alien Registration; Marriage Certificate; Certificate of Corporate Register; Certificate of Real Estate Register; Financial statements; Power of attorney; Certificate of bank account balance; Bill statement of public utility charges; Death certificate, etc.
Typical Occasions When Apostille Is Required
AURORA’s Experience
We have obtained Apostille and other types of certification for the following documents.
Family Register, Residence Certificate, Corporate Registration, Articles of Incorporation, Death certificate, Inheritance chart, Power of Attorney, Passport, Certificate of graduation, Transcript of academic record, Certificate of tax withholding, Financial statements, Invoice, Bill of Lading (B/L), Certificate of Alien Registration Card, Certificate of Accepted Notification of Marriage, Certificate of Accepted Notification of Divorce Contract, Bank account statement, Electricity bill, Audit report, Distributor authorization letter, Income certificate, Birth certificate, Affidavit, Minutes of Board of Directors' Meeting, Certificate of Criminal Record
The documents for which we have obtained Apostille and other types of certification were used in the following countries.
United States, Italy, India, Russia, Argentina, Germany, Australia, Portugal, Switzerland, Hong Kong, Bolivia, Mexico, Turkey, Netherlands, Dominican, Republic, South Korea, England, Finland, Maldives, Malta, Vietnam, Israel, Switzerland, Colombia, Thailand, Indonesia, Saudi Arabia, Philippines, Germany, Man (British territory), Chile, Spain, South Africa, Czech Republic, Republic of Estonia, China, Canada, Singapore, Denmark, Slovakia, Norway, Belgium, Bahamas, Latvia, Ireland, State of Kuwait, Kingdom of Cambodia, Romania, Seychelles, Iraq, Luxembourg, United Arab Emirates, Bangladesh, Malaysia, Peru, New Zealand
Notarization/ Authentication of Official Seal/ Attestation
In addition to the Apostille, there are other types of certification such as notarization, authentication of official seal and attestation. While the word “Apostille” is clearly defined and is used without confusion, other types of certification may be used with somewhat confusion on a case-by-case basis. Therefore, in order to acquire the right type of certification on your document, in addition to the name of the certification, including notarization, notarial, attestation, legalization and whatever else that is called, please also be aware that your certification should be issued by whether a Japanese notary public, the Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs, a foreign embassy/consul located in Japan, or otherwise.
Hague Convention Signatory Countries & Regions
The Apostille is effective only among countries and regions which are the members of the Hague Convention. Such members of the Hague Convention account for approximately a half of all nations and regions worldwide, as listed below. (The below list is an extract from the website of the Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs.)

Iceland, Ireland, Azerbaijan, U.S.A., Argentina, Albania, Armenia, Antigua and Barbuda, Andorra, UK, Israel, Italy, India, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Uruguay, Ecuador, Estonia, El Salvador, Australia, Austria, Oman, Netherlands, Kazakhstan, Cape Verde, Cyprus, Cook Islands, Greece, Georgia, Grenada, Croatia, Costa Rica, Colombia, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Switzerland, Sweden, Spain, Suriname, Slovakia, Slovenia, Swaziland, Seychelles, Serbia, Saint Christopher-Nevis, St. Vincent, St. Lucia, South Korea, Tajikistan, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Dominican Republic, Dominica, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Tonga, Namibia, Niue, Nicaragua, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, Panama, Vanuatu, Bahamas, Paraguay, Barbados, Hungary, Fiji, Finland, France, Bulgaria, Brunei, Burundi, Venezuela, Belarus, Belize, Belgium, Peru, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Portugal, Poland, Hong Kong, Honduras, Marshall Islands, Macao, Macedonia, Malawi, Malta, South Africa, Mexico, Mauritius, Monaco, Republic of Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Latvia, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Liberia, Luxembourg, Romania, Lesotho, Russia, Bahrain, Botswana, Czech Republic, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Kyrgyz Republic, Kosovo, Morocco, Brazil, Chile, Guatemala, Tunisia, Bolivia, Guyana, Philippines

French Territory:
Guadeloupe, French Guiana, Martinique, Reunion, New Caledonia, Wallis and Futuna Islands, Saint-Pierre Island, Miquelon, French Polynesia

Portugal Territory:
All overseas territory

Dutch Territory:
Dutch Antilles, Aruba

British Territory:
Jersey, Guernsey, Man, Cayman Islands, Bermudas, Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, Montserrat, St. Helena, Anguilla, Turks And Caicos Islands, British Virgin Islands
(As of May 14, 2019)
Non-Members of Hague Convention:
Roughly a half of countries in the world, including Canada, China, Malaysia, Vietnam and Indonesia, are not the members of the Hague Convention. Consequently, if any type of certification is required on your document which will be used in any of those non-member countries, such certification should not be the Apostille but should be other type of certification.
Copyright © 2009 AURORA Translation & Legal Services all rights reserved.